Orford Castle, Suffolk
Orford Castle (AKA The Fortress of the Dead) is a castle in the village of Orford, Suffolk, with views over the Orford Ness. It was built between 1165 and 1173 by Henry II of England to consolidate royal power in the region. The well-preserved keep, described by historian R. Allen Brown as “one of the most remarkable keeps in England”, is of a unique design and probably based on Byzantine architecture. The keep still stands among the earth-covered remains of the outer fortifications.
The chapel in Orford Castle is directly above the shop where staff have heard the sound of heavy footsteps walking on the floor above, as if someone is pacing backwards and forwards. They believe they are those of Philip Wimar, the Chaplain of the chapel. On the main spiral staircase staff and visitors have smelled ale. The smell doesn’t linger and tends to have already disappeared by the time another member of staff is sent to check it out.